Archive for 04/07/2010

Stand Up For the Week 2

Posted in Culture, Uncategorized with tags , , , , on 04/07/2010 by arabrhizome

I almost forgot to write this today. I’ve been so busy wallowing in my own crap (metaphorically I promise) that I actually thought I had written one today. Anyway, I don’t know why I do this to myself, but I thought I’d give Stand Up for the Week another chance. I think I just like making myself angry and upset. I also think it’s because, like most human beings, I have a morbid fascination with train wreck situations (what? Is it just me? Oh… sorry). Also, Mark Watson was on it, and I like him, he’s good.

So, episode 2 of stand up for the week, better or worse? Worse. A lot worse. A resounding worse. Except for Mark Watson, the show was a complete disaster. Rich Hall looked like he’d rather be anywhere in the world, and you know what? I respect him for it. He clearly signed a contract and can’t really get out of it. I bet that if there’s a second series commissioned he won’t be on it. The show was mainly about the world cup and England’s defeat, which is expected. But the jokes were lazy and obvious. Also, I think a few were quite similar to other ones I heard during the week, particularly on one other stand up show on tv… cough… (mock the week)… cough.

I don’t know if the jokes were written by the stand ups themselves or if they have a team of writers. Before going further I just want to say I don’t think it’s wrong for them to have co-writers for this kind of show. Because if there is a team of writers then I would hope that they all had the time to watch other shows and their coverage. That would make it impossible for them to make the same jokes, if they have any self respect. Of course if it is the stand ups themselves then they might not have had time to watch all the coverage. Or maybe the jokes just happened to be similar, it’s possible… though highly unlikely.

Anyway, I don’t know if I’ll watch the next episode or not. I’m conflicted, on the one hand watching it makes me want to rip off my own legs of and beat/kick myself to death with them; on the other hand, I want to see how bad it’ll be this time. I think I’ve got a problem. I’m addicted to shitty stand up programs. Unlike some people who are addicted to shitty reality tv shows, i.e. all reality tv shows, or those addicted to shitty talent shows, i.e. anything with Cowell in it, I’m addicted to shit stand up shows. I am attracted to them like moth to a flame. Also like the moth I am left bruised, hurt, and with a burning sensation from the flame. The burning sensation I’m left with is that of blind rage mixed with deep shame both at the show and at myself for watching it all the way through. I won’t watch the next episode… of course I will. I’ll also write a blog about it, that way I too can be lazy and just recycle material by just making each post a little bit different.