Flat On Fire

So today I had a fire in my flat. As it turns out it wasn’t too bad, but as it was happening, it was actually really scary. So I had some cardboard in my oven for some reason, I’m not sure why or how it got in there. Anyway, I decided to preheat my oven in order to cook something. As the oven was preheating I started smelling something burning. I wasn’t sure what it was. Then I got in my kitchen and saw smoke coming out of my oven. I opened it and it was on fire. There were flames rising up.

I got a tea towel and a blanket and tried to put the fire out. I didn’t want to use water as it was an electric oven. I also didn’t want to leave it as it was near a gas mainline. As I was doing that I called 999. They told me to leave the flat. By that time the fire got reduced to ambers. Two fire engines drove up. My arm was slightly burned, it was nothing really I’ve had worse from cooking, and some of my arm hair was scorched. The firemen were very nice and gave me a anti burns thing to put on my arm.

Fortunately, nothing was damaged. The cooker needs to be checked by an engineer. An electrician will be coming to see it tomorrow. Other than that everything is okay. But I have to admit that it was a very scary few minutes. I don’t even think it was that long. I was glad that I didn’t panic and was able to act. I will however always check my oven before I preheat it from now on. I will never turn it on until I’m sure it’s completely empty. Anyway, that’s all from me. Stay safe everyone. Live long and prosper.

One Response to “Flat On Fire”

  1. Yikes, that sure is scary!
    I’m glad it’s ended up with so little damage and harm.

Leave a Reply

