Writing On The Train

So I’m writing this post from the train. I’m tired and a bit grumpy. My flight was fine. There was a very fine looking gay male flight attendant that wasn’t exactly bad to look at. I saw many homophobic passengers give him evil looks, but also saw that they were troubled by just how good looking he was. The fact that he was incredibly nice and made every effort to be helpful and to return their evil looks with kind smiles only made him more endearing to me. Also, it clearly made those passengers troubled as they didn’t exactly know how to react to this.
It was fun watching this man deal with that incredible amount of aggression, even though most of it was non-verbal, with such class. I wondered if he was silently wishing he wasn’t surrounded by such aggression, or wishing them all dead. I also wondered if he truly didn’t care or if it was all a front and that he was actually sad or angry. By the way, all this aggression wasn’t coming from Arabs only, before you think that I’m making a johann Hari style argument that all Arabs and Muslims are homophobic thus silencing all those who are lgbt themselves or who simply aren’t. There were plenty of European men and women who were disgustingly and openly homophobic towards him.
Anyway, the man was great and I found myself wanting to be his friend, I think I also developed a bit of a crush on him. I made sure to smile at him, I even talked to him a bit while I was waiting to go to the loo on the plane (only for a number one you scatological fiends!). I asked him if he had visited Algeria for a few days or was only on a same day return journey. He said that this time he hadn’t stayed but that he had visited before and really liked it.
After that minimal exchange he was clearly relieved that someone didn’t despise him for who he was and he came and talked to me at some point while nothing much was happening on the plane. The plane was mainly empty and I had a whole row to myself. We had just a regular conversation about what I do and where I’m from and platitudes like that. But he seemed to enjoy it and I didn’t mind. I’m sure we’ll never see each other again but we shared a nice moment on the plane and that was nice. Anyway, that’s all for now. This train is slow and full and I’m very tired. Stay safe everyone. Live long and prosper.

One Response to “Writing On The Train”

  1. It was nice you took the time to chat it must be hard for him/anyone having to put up with crap like that on a daily basis..

Leave a Reply

