Being Vegan

So I’ve been vegan for a few months now and I have to admit that I feel great. I have plenty of energy, I feel happy and healthy. I didn’t really write about why exactly I became vegan and what drove me to it. I didn’t really know what to blog about today and so thought I might as well write about why I became a vegan and why I think that it’s an important thing to do. Also, I thought I’d let you all know what it’s actually like being a vegan, especially in a country in which the food revolves around meat, eggs, and dairy.

So let’s start at the beginning. Why did I become a vegan? Well to be honest, I always knew that when I ate meat I was doing something that was morally wrong, but I rationalised it. I tried to say to myself, and to others, that we evolved to eat meat. That as a species we had a biological imperative to consume animal meat. Of course that’s total crap. I also tried to put all the information about slaughter houses and the disgusting practices there in the back of my mind. I tried to not think about it. And to be honest with you, it worked. It worked very well. I continued to consume animal products without ever thinking about it. Meat was in every meal I ate.

However, I was then exposed to this information, as well as new information, in a way that I simply couldn’t ignore anymore. In fact, it happened through listening to Citizen’s Radio and particularly Erin Red’s appearances on there. I Learned things, and relearned things, that made it impossible for me to consume animal products and not feel like a hypocrite for several reasons. As you know I think of myself as a good person and someone who tries to stad up to injustice where ever it is. However, I had somehow managed to convince myself that the violence done to animals, both in the meat and dairy industries, wasn’t an injustice.

I also discovered just how unhealthy it is to consume those products. I mean the amount of antibiotics pumped into animals who are then used to produce milk or slaughtered for meat is reason enough to stop consuming those products. But it’s also so much more than that. Something that’s quite common sensical for example, but that I somehow missed, is that in order for cows to produce milk they must be nursing. I mean it’s common sense. So in order for cows to keep producing milk we keep them in a constant state of pregnancy and nursing but we actually take the milk for ourselves. Now that’s inexcusable.

Anyway, once I was exposed to this and much more information I realised that I just couldn’t keep being part of these horrible practices and that I needed to do what I can, which is stop consuming those products. Most of my friends were very surprised, as they all knew me for being very much a carnivore. I also consumed incredible amounts of cheese. So I got off meat and dairy for a few months now, and I have to admit that I never felt this good in my life. My body feels clean and healthy, my sinus problem has all but disappeared, my intestinal issues are basically gone. I feel healthy. I also feel happy, and if I’m honest quite self righteous.

So how has it been. Well if I’m honest I was very surprised at how easy the whole process has been. I was always someone who cooks a lot, so all it took is for me to adapt my cooking to my new life style. I have to admit that the internet has been an incredible resource here. Because the vegan diet is usually represented as bland and unattractive, vegan cooks have been pressured into making interesting food.  have to admit that I have never eaten so much interesting and cool food since I became vegan. I have also started baking, which is something I have never really done before. Vegan baking is really good.

I also was very surprised by how vegan friendly Nottingham is as a city. Pretty much every restaurant in this city has at least one good vegan option. I was expecting it to be difficult here in the UK, which is known for it’s reliance on dairy and animal flesh in its food. However, it hasn’t been hard to find most of what I need. Apart from some knee jerk reactions to me saying I’m vegan, which I have to admit has made some people hate me more than anything I’ve ever said or done, it has been good. All in all I feel that I made the right decision and I haven’t looked back since. Anyway, that’s my story. I hope it didn’t make you hate me. Stay safe everyone. Live long and prosper.

One Response to “Being Vegan”

  1. Great to see how well you are doing on the diet (actually lifestyle). As for the, vegan food, at least the natural and healthy vegan choices, they offer the best flavor and source for nutrition. All that other stuff is too processed and induces cravings.

    In time, these foods begin to taste better and better. As for those that give you grief about the lifestyle, don’t grow thick skin over it. This is not something you have to defend, this is a choice to live longer and healthier with better choices. Best wishes…

    LIVE Longer We WIll!

Leave a Reply

