Day Twelve

Today started very well. I woke up very early and went to my guitar lesson which was absolutely fantastic. We worked on music theory and improvisation. It was a lot of fun and made me feel so empowered. I can actually see myself getting to a point when I just hang out with a band and just start playing with them. I’m usually very intimidated by other musicians but I think that soon I won’t be anymore. I was giddy with excitement. I haven’t felt this excited about music in general and playing in particular in years. It really made me feel great.

But most of you reading this are probably expecting me to write about the riots in the UK. Well I’d like to but there is much to say and I don’t think I am the right person to say it. I will link you to a couple of pieces that I found very interesting to read. Here’s an excellent marxist reading of the first riots in Tottenham. Here is another piece by the same blogger, who’s excellent you should all read him, on the reactionary reactions to the riots. Tonight things seem very dark. The riots have moved beyond London with riots reported in Birmingham and possibly in Leeds. It seems that frustration is being unleashed but no real political direction is organising itself around these riots. I will keep observing and see how things will develop.

In more self obsessed news, I made myself a vegan satay and it was one of the best things I’ve ever had. Here’s the recipe if you’re interested in trying it. It’s honestly delicious. If I keep finding nice recipes like this one I think that being a vegan will be very easy. Anyway, I should go back to work and to keeping up with the news. Stay safe everyone. Love you bye.

Leave a Reply

