Food Poisoning, Kurt Cobain, and Layne Staley

So I woke up with a bad case of food poisoning. I’m still suffering and if I’m not feeling better tomorrow I will go to the hospital. I’m hoping to feel better tomorrow, but I’m still feeling very uncomfortable. I’m going to spare you the details, but it’s enough to say that I’m feeling completely empty. I won’t be writing a long post because I’m still internetless and I’m not completely here. My head is hurting and I’m just very uncomfortable.

Anyway, I just wanted to mention that 17 years ago we lost a legend of music. Kurt Cobain killed himself 17 years ago. The news was terrible because he was one of the heroes of our generation. We all wanted to be Kurt Cobain. He was handsome, talented, and tortured. He was able to capture the alienation and angst felt by us teenagers in a way that I don’t see today. We all miss him.

But that’s not all there is to it. Another giant of the grunge era of music died 9 years ago. Layne Staley, the front man of Alice in Chains one of the best bands to come out of Seattle in the early and mid 1990s, was found dead in his flat. The most terrible thing was that he was found 2 weeks after he died. He died of an overdose. It’s incredibly sad to think that such a hero of a whole generation was so alienated that no one checked on him for 2 weeks. His tortured vocals were a distinctive soundtrack of our teenage years. We miss him as well.

Leave a Reply

