Life On Mars

So I wanted to write a post this morning, but didn’t have much to say. I thought that by tonight I would have thought of something, and guess what? I did. I have to put a bit of a disclaimer first though, I’m in a bit of a bad mood. I don’t really know why, but I just am. So this post, while having something to say, which is mainly positive, might be a little short.

I woke up kind of late this morning, as I slept quite late last night. I had decided to stay home and work. I did exactly that for most of the day. I read a lot and worked quite well. In fact, I worked so well that I ended up forgetting to eat lunch. This hasn’t happened to me in a very long time. I finally made myself something to eat around 16:00. And this is when I started watching Life on Mars. I was aware of the existence of that series, yet never really got around to watching it. I knew that I would probably like it. And in fact I really do like it.

It’s about this police officer who gets run over by a car and wakes up in 1973. It’s set in Manchester, and it’s incredibly well done. I’ve come to expect very high quality drama from the BBC and this doesn’t disappoint. The sets, the acting, the writing, the pace, everything is pitch perfect. You follow this man’s life as he’s trying to make sense of what’s happening around him. You see how people are talked to and about before political correctness. The great thing about it is that you kind of understand the importance of things like political correctness and red tape and all these things that people complain about routinely.

The point is that it is better now that women aren’t treated the way they were in the 1970s. It is better that you can’t use certain words to describe minorities. It is better that the police has to follow procedures. The 1970s are not looked at with a fake melancholy. At the same time, they’re not stigmatised or presented as caricature. It’s all done very well.

I don’t want to give away too much. But the whole overarching narrative of trying to figure out what’s happening to him is very well incorporated within each episode’s structure. We are led to think that something specific is happening to him, but at the same time there seems to be something else going on. I can’t wait to watch more episodes and understand the plot a bit more.

Anyway, that’s about it from me. I think I made the word count, all in all. As I said, the fact that I haven’t done it is that I am in very bad mood and I don’t really feel like being nice. I also don’t really feel like being mean. I just want to sit and feel sorry for myself a little bit, which I think you will all agree is fair enough. So anyway, I will hopefully feel better tomorrow and have something more positive to contribute. In the mean time, be nice to each other and don’t treat people in a way you wouldn’t want to be treated.

Leave a Reply

