Happy Days

I thought I would write my post early today. I have had a very long day of work and would like to spend the rest of the evening fannying around. So I thought that I could finish it off early and then enjoy an uninterrupted session of massive unproductive and useless activities.

I just got back from uni where I’ve been since about 9:30. I finished my WIP and rewrote my introduction and conclusion. I sent it off to my supervisors and can now breath a little. I will also take tomorrow off, except for the whole presenting my WIP. But that’s  not really work as it involves me reading a paper and freaking out the new postgrads by making them think that I am smarter then I actually am. It will only take an hour and a half of my day.

I have to say I haven’t felt this happy with my work in general and my thesis in a very long time. I feel like I am happy to work again. While I did spend most of my day at uni working, it didn’t feel like a chore. I read a lot in the past few days and wrote a lot as well. But it was all fun and interesting. My brain has finally clicked back into place and I am over the rot I was stuck in. I feel good about being a PhD student and I’m starting to develop a weird kind of workaholism. I am happy to work and happy to see the products of my labour.

Other than that my day was very uneventful. I basically spent the whole of it in from of the computer in the PGR room reading and writing. It is easy to forget how fortunate I am to be in a line of work that involves me reading about stuff I like and then writing about it. I need to keep reminding myself that no matter what happens I am massively lucky to be working in a safe environment that doesn’t involve a mine collapsing on my head or the likes.

Another thing I am extremely proud of is that I was able to incorporate the word ‘enculade’ in my thesis. For those who aren’t French speakers, this word is the noun derived from the verb enculer. I have discussed the meaning of the word before here. Enculade basically means: to fuck up the arse. Now I was able to incorporate it in a discussion about high theory and the attitude of Gilles Deleuze, the philosopher I’m working on, towards the history of philosophy and structuralism. I believe that this is a very commendable effort on my part and should be recognised as such.

Anyway, I am planning to play on my PS3 tonight. I haven’t touched the machine in a while. I am looking forward to that. I am also going to watch a bit of tv and generally do nothing productive or remotely self improving. I believe I have earned that. So I hope you all have a nice evening/day and I’ll see you tomorrow for another post.

Leave a Reply

