Long Day/Short Post

Right so a short one today I’m afraid. I had a very long day and I’m passing out. I need to wake up early tomorrow to take my mom to the airport, so I can’t stay up too late. Also, I’m very tired and I don’t think I’m actually capable of staying up too much later. I had an alright day. My rant of yesterday made me feel a bit better but I really think that it’s high time for this visit to be over. I have a lot of work to do, the gym to go to, and my routine to find again. I just need a bit of my own space and my own shit for a while.

In other news, we went to the British museum today. What a glorious space it is. In many ways it is a lot more manageable than the Louvre. It is smaller, but still massive, and more importantly it’s free. I’m actually thinking of subscribing to it, that way I can go to the special exhibitions for free, and I’ll be forced to go to a few in order to make the expense feel like it was worth it. I really like museums and should make an effort to go to them more often. Next time I’m in London I want to go to the Tate Modern.

I also bought a few books at Waterstones. I found this trilogy that was being sold as a 3 for 2 offer. So I bought it. It’s called the Black Magician trilogy and seems quite good, from the first 4 chapters I read today. The last trilogy I read was the Abercrombie books called the First Law trilogy, those were very very good, and I highly recommend them. They’re dark and funny. There aren’t really any heroes in them. Every character is despicable and flawed beyond repair. And it ends in the most brilliant way. The whole atmosphere and mood of the books is very enjoyable. They can be gory at times, but it’s in keeping with the general mood. The writing is crisp and smart. All in all they’re very good books.

Well that ran for longer than I expected. There is a saying in Lebanon that I love and it basically goes: ‘My eyes are fucking each other’, which means that I am so sleepy my eyes are unable to focus and am getting cross eyed because of sleepiness. As I said tomorrow starts very early and I need my beauty sleep. When I say beauty… I’m quite aware of the liberties I’m taking with reality. Anyway, enough rambling and time for snoring. Good night everyone.

Leave a Reply

