31st Post

Right so this is my 31st post, which means that tomorrow I would have written a post every day for a month. I think that’s quite an achievement. I’m very proud of myself for sticking with this. It has been hard sometimes to think about something to write about before I get on the blog, but I find that when it comes down to it I am able to find something interesting to write about. Of course, I was helped by current events, but I’m still quite proud. I wish I could write like that for my thesis.

So today I woke up very early to hang out with Z before she left for the middle of nowhere, oh sorry I mean North Dakota. We had a nice time and I was sad to see her get in the taxi. But interestingly, she phoned me from the airport and she was pulled for a “random security check” when the passport control officer realised that her passport was issued in Beirut. She said that it was fine and easy. The people were very nice and they all laughed about the non-randomness of the random check. Which is both funny and scary.

In other news, I did very little today. Except watched the last half of season one of Battlestar Galactica. I have to say this series is so good on so many levels. The Cylons are one the coolest thing ever thought up by a tv writer I think. Also, the whole mythology of the series is incredibly intelligent. The music is brilliant and fits the mood of the show incredibly well. I highly recommend it to everyone. Even if you’re not into science fiction, there’s so much in there that I’m pretty sure you’ll find something in there to tickle your fancy.

I also would like any information anyone has for a good, and cheap, place to host a website and a weekly podcast. We have a few options, but if anyone knows a good place we’re still shopping around. Z enjoyed the podcast, which kind of surprised me as she doesn’t usually like this kind of stuff. I’m still waiting to hear the reviews from A and B. We’re probably going to record the next one this Saturday and try to publish them both by next week. I’ll keep you posted and let you know what’s up.

In world cup news now. I’ve been enjoying the tournament so far, even though there haven’t been many goals. I really enjoyed watching North Korea play. I really hope they don’t get executed when they go back home. I was very happy that Ghana won their game, I’ve been feeling very pan-African. I hope Algeria pull themselves together and do well against England, although the way they played doesn’t really bode well. I hope the second games of the group stage give us more goals and more surprises (well done Switzerland for beating Spain).

4 Responses to “31st Post”

  1. Wow thats really good, I just started my blog and I hope to try and write every day hopefully I’l manage it only trouble is im going on holidays but before and after i hope to write every day, I’m wondering do you have any tips?

    • well that’s a good question. I guess don’t worry if it’s not very good. The point is, if you are going to write everyday then try to focus on one particular thing that happened to you or you thought about, and then just write about it even if it’s not very good. If you can’t think of anything, then just write about your day and hopefully something will come up, then you can decide to just focus on that, and delete the rest. Alternatively you might find that you like having a sort of diary thing. I wish you good luck and hope you enjoy blogging, it’s quite fun and liberating.

      • Thanks for the advice man I’ll certainly keep those tips in mind and hopefully I’ll be able to manage it! Thanks again!

      • No problem mate. Also, thanks for the support. It’s nice to know that people are reading this.

Leave a Reply

